+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Arkless Electronics modified Cambridge 640P/651P phono stages available

  1. #1

    Default Arkless Electronics modified Cambridge 640P/651P phono stages available

    The rave reviewed (on-line) Arkless phonostages are available, as ever, and anyone interested can PM me or email me jezarkless(at)talktalk.net.
    You need to provide a donor unit, either 640P or 651P, working or not (many have bought brand new 651P's from Richer Sounds and had them delivered directly to me).
    A quick google search should show loads of rave reviews on other forums....

    A demonstrator unit is available for the basic model (not as yet the "Turbo" version) so if SEVERAL people are interested in hearing this then please PM me your details and I'll get something sorted.
    This works by the last person to try it sending it on to the next in the list hence it needs a few people to be interested for it to work!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Next door to the Clangers
    Posts
    11,915
    Rep Power
    40382550

    Default

    I might be interested in hearing this Jez, if several more are not interested would you consider a loan unit if I was to pay all postage?

    Having said that your prospective future products sound interesting too.

  3. #3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by The Professor View Post
    I might be interested in hearing this Jez, if several more are not interested would you consider a loan unit if I was to pay all postage?

    Having said that your prospective future products sound interesting too.
    Of course Yes. I'll let this thread run a bit first though to see if there are any more folks interested in trying it. Obviously that way everyone only pays one lot of postage...

    As to the other prospective products well other than the hybrid phonostage there are also several more phonostages, some all solid state some all valve etc, a few headphone amps (hybrid and SS), several power amps (mainly class A, some hybrid but non all valve), a TT PSU for TT's with AC motors and possibly small mains regenerators to suit individual smaller items (phonostage, pre-amps etc)....

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Gloucester
    Posts
    40
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    ...a TT PSU for TT's with AC motors.

    This would be of great interest to me, any more detail or should I PM you?

    Thanks.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Birmingham, , United Kingdom
    Posts
    366
    Rep Power
    272503

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mesavinylnut View Post
    ...a TT PSU for TT's with AC motors.

    This would be of great interest to me, any more detail or should I PM you?

    Thanks.
    Not at all sure Jez is still trading?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Next door to the Clangers
    Posts
    11,915
    Rep Power
    40382550

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Cable Monkey View Post
    Not at all sure Jez is still trading?
    I think he's still trying to trade, but google Arkless a bit and see if you still wish to deal with him.

    Systemdek have a computer controlled AC motor and controller, not cheap though and not sure if they will sell without buying their TT but you could ask.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Gloucester
    Posts
    40
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Thanks,

    googling show very litle in recent hits...

    Could just buy a Hercules?

  8. #8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mesavinylnut View Post
    Thanks,

    googling show very litle in recent hits...

    Could just buy a Hercules?
    unless 45 is a must have I'd build a Norton!(cheaper and better than most alternatives)

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Birmingham, , United Kingdom
    Posts
    366
    Rep Power
    272503

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mesavinylnut View Post
    Thanks,

    googling show very litle in recent hits...

    Could just buy a Hercules?
    He ran into problems with the phono stage. I doubt any of the other projects ever got off the ground so alternatives are the order of the day. A Herc is good assuming you have the right motor. What is your deck?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    168
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Right motor ?
    It is only Lingo and Radikal that must have the right motor.
    Basik, Valhalla and Hercules you can have witch of them.

    /L
    Tangerine Audio Stiletto, Plateau, Skorpion, SME V ( D ), Dynavector DRT XV 1S, Chord Signature Tuned Aray, Linn Cirkus, Linn Radikal Klimax, Tranquility
    https://www.linnarts.se

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Gloucester
    Posts
    40
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Renovating an AR 'The Turntable'. Has a Hurst motor fitted.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    168
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Sorry didnt know you had the real thing and for us other that have the expensive copy

    /L
    Tangerine Audio Stiletto, Plateau, Skorpion, SME V ( D ), Dynavector DRT XV 1S, Chord Signature Tuned Aray, Linn Cirkus, Linn Radikal Klimax, Tranquility
    https://www.linnarts.se

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    The padded cell.
    Posts
    1,625
    Rep Power
    3389534

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SME V View Post
    Sorry didn't know you had the real thing and for us other that have the expensive copy
    You can only be young once, but you can be immature for ever.....

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Birmingham, , United Kingdom
    Posts
    366
    Rep Power
    272503

    Default

    I have an AR but I went DC because my motor was noisy. I presume you have visited sites like Soundofthewoodaudio.com? If not it is a useful site. I can't remember off the top of my head if a Herc or similar works out of the box for an AR. I think it needs to be a 16 pole motor. The reason I pointed you to SOTW Audio is because when I was looking the AC motor replacement options were none existent. As the tables age the replacements have become necessary.

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts