+ Reply to Thread
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3
Results 41 to 59 of 59

Thread: Scam?

  1. #41
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Lancashire.
    Posts
    4,134
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    324040

    Default

    Thanks lads, appreciated. Its dual core 2.something and has 8 gig ram and 500 gig hd which will be plenty. My G5 only has a 160 gig and it's not even half full after six years . Tbh that ipad I got from you Paul does pretty much everything I need but I have an iPhone and I want something to tie it all together.
    Si.

  2. #42
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Lancashire.
    Posts
    4,134
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    324040

    Default

    When I'm ready to set up the Mac Mini do I need a monitor on both computers? When I first got the old G5 I couldn't get it to work the monitor as the settings were wrong. My daughter sorted it in the end by going into safe mode and changing stuff. I'm just hoping this Mac Mini works straight out of the box with no messing around. Once I've crossed this hurdle how do I remove my stuff from the old G5 ?
    Si.

  3. #43
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Leeds
    Posts
    512
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Hi, glad to hear, you shouldn't need a screen on hte old machine, just make sure it's switched on and connected to your router. On your new machine run Migration Assistant. guide here: https://support.apple.com/en-gb/HT204350

    Once you're happy that you've gotten everything off the old machine then you could just add a new user to it and then from it delete the old user (it'll remove your home directory and all its content).

    If you want to be thorough then just re-install the operating system which will format the drive wiping all its content. Whack it on eBay once done.

    Any hassle I can walk you through it, can PM you my number.

  4. #44
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Lancashire.
    Posts
    4,134
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    324040

    Default

    Thanks qube. I'll have a read of that when I get back. I do have the original install discs for the G5.
    Si.

  5. #45
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Manchester
    Posts
    120
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Hi Si,
    Is it DVI or MiniDVI out on the MacMini?
    What's ur monitor cable?
    If Mac is miniDVI then you should have an adapter widget converting to either DVI(digital) or VGA(old school).
    They might put HDMI on them now I guess.
    Also available to give you a hand if you need it.
    Waz
    The only way round is through the bend...

  6. #46
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Lancashire.
    Posts
    4,134
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    324040

    Default

    Thanks Warren. I'll have to get it out of the box and have a look. I do have a spare cable here and an adapter if I need it.
    Si.

  7. #47
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Glasgow
    Posts
    7,910
    Rep Power
    209994

    Default

    I have a mini dvi cable Si if you need it.

  8. #48
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Lancashire.
    Posts
    4,134
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    324040

    Default

    That's really appreciated Eddie, thanks. If I need one I'll give you a shout.
    Si.

  9. #49
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Next door to the Clangers
    Posts
    11,915
    Rep Power
    40382550

    Default

    if its a 2010 model Mac Mini (thinner and all aluminium) has HDMI, plus the either a mini display port, or a thunderbolt which does same thing. earlier 2009 models (larger with white top) have a minidsiplay port and a mimidvi

    Quote Originally Posted by Audiovista View Post
    Hi Si,
    Is it DVI or MiniDVI out on the MacMini?
    What's ur monitor cable?
    If Mac is miniDVI then you should have an adapter widget converting to either DVI(digital) or VGA(old school).
    They might put HDMI on them now I guess.
    Also available to give you a hand if you need it.
    Waz

  10. #50
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Glasgow
    Posts
    7,910
    Rep Power
    209994

    Default

    Sorry Si. I meant to say mini HDMI

  11. #51
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Lancashire.
    Posts
    4,134
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    324040

    Default

    See what I mean Eddie? I don't know my arse from my elbow when it comes to computers. I know how to f5ck 'em up though

    Paul, It's early 2010 with the cd/dvd drive. It's a heavy piece of kit. Didn't expect that. I already have a fairly new wired aluminum keyboard so that should be fine.

    Now don't you all go laughing at this but I'm crapping myself that something will go wrong when I plug everything it because it always does. Jeez I'm sweating just thinking about it
    Si.

  12. #52
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Next door to the Clangers
    Posts
    11,915
    Rep Power
    40382550

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Chops54 View Post
    See what I mean Eddie? I don't know my arse from my elbow when it comes to computers. I know how to f5ck 'em up though

    Paul, It's early 2010 with the cd/dvd drive. It's a heavy piece of kit. Didn't expect that. I already have a fairly new wired aluminum keyboard so that should be fine.

    Now don't you all go laughing at this but I'm crapping myself that something will go wrong when I plug everything it because it always does. Jeez I'm sweating just thinking about it
    no need to crap yourself, it's only a computer, if you feck it up, then someone will fix it, so stop sweating, besides Warren has offered to help, and I'm not too shabby on a mac, Ive got 4 of the bloody things, and umpteen iOS devices, and Ive done a few migrations.

    Is your mac all ally, or ally and polycarbonate?

    see here http://www.everymac.com/systems/appl...-mac-mini.html

  13. #53
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Lancashire.
    Posts
    4,134
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    324040

    Default

    It's the ally/poly one.
    Si.

  14. #54
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Next door to the Clangers
    Posts
    11,915
    Rep Power
    40382550

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Chops54 View Post
    It's the ally/poly one.

    Ok that's Mini Display port or Mini DVI to connect to the monitor, does it have an adaptor? Either in the box, or plugged into back of machine. (You can tell if it's plugged in as the back will be flush if not)

  15. #55
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Lancashire.
    Posts
    4,134
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    324040

    Default

    I'm just going to get it out of the box and have a look.
    Si.

  16. #56
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Birmingham
    Posts
    11,097
    Rep Power
    1792663

    Default

    Careful, you might have to get a qualified electrician in.

  17. #57
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Leeds
    Posts
    512
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    nothing to worry about. Your old monitor is likely to be DVI (given it was plugged into a G5) so you'll need a MiniDV to DVI adaptor to plug it in. PCWorld sell them.

  18. #58
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Lancashire.
    Posts
    4,134
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    324040

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by TIU View Post
    Careful, you might have to get a qualified electrician in.
    Less of it
    Si.

  19. #59
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Lancashire.
    Posts
    4,134
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    324040

    Default

    I got the adapter for the monitor today but I'm working nights at the brewery so it's going to be a few days before I get around to sorting this out.
    Si.

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts