+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Another Rush thread...

Blog Entries

Default Another Rush thread...

(Probably one for the Prof, this)

So,

I think I'm becoming a bit of a convert, much to my chagrin

I bought some LPs and some CDs a few years ago in an attempt to get further into Prog - King Crimson, VdGG, Caravan, Camel that sort of thing, as well as some .
    My LPs consist of 2112, Moving pictures, Farewell to Kings and Hemispheres. Initially I was diving into the Ayn Rand concept stuff that takes up one side of an album, because, lets face it, everybody knows that's what Rush is all about. And whilst it was pleasing to have on in the background, it didn't really grab my attention.

Then I started playing Moving Pictures sporadically. A while later I discovered myself humming most of the bloody album. And the lyrics. I had some others on CD - Roll the bones and a couple of others, which I quite enjoyed, although I think that it is a bit of a leap compared to, say Fly by Night. (a bit like listening to some post Woolly Wolstenholme Barclay James Harvest, compared to the first few albums)

So I've recently found on Youtube, some videos - Tom Sawyer, the 'Beyond the Lighted Stage' documentary, and of particular interest was some tech videos of the crew setting up for a concert.

Having done a bit of Wiki research, I've found that there's about 10 live albums.

I've got 'All the World's a Stage' which I find OK, but it doesn't get me fired up in the same way that Iron Maiden's Live After Death, Quo's Live (Apollo 76), AC/DC's If you Want Blood, or Allman Brothers at the Filmore does.

I've just won a copy of Exit... Stage left on't bay, which I hope will be a bit more engaging. I know I'll probably end up buying more of the live stuff as time goes on, so if anyone has any recommendations / must avoids, that would be welcome.